Skip to content

U-District Street Fair 2010- longest running street fair in the nation!

May 24, 2010

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

(click to enlarge)

May 15-16, 2010
Exit 169
41st to 47th Ave  & University Way
Seattle, WA

Did you know that the U-District Street Fair is the longest running street festival in the nation?  Last weekend the U-district celebrated this event for its 41st time!  I’ve gone to the Street Fair the last four years that I’ve been a student at UW.  This year was by far the most fun!  I ate more and went with more people and this year I was lucky enough to go on another sunny day because if you haven’t noticed, not that it isn’t hard to miss, but our spring weather has been super bi-polar!

I’ll just do a recap of the food through the pics I posted:

Row 1, Pic 3: My friend Aileen bought the giant bag of kettle corn for $8!  It was so good and the blend  of sweet and salty was just right, the way kettle corn should be!  There were four of us eating it but by the time we had our fill we were only about two inches deep from the top. I swear we ate more!  It felt like we ate half!

Row 2, Pic 1,2: Roasted Corn!  This is definitely a MUST when you’re at any outdoor food event!  It was perfect, it definitely hit the spot!

Row 2, Pic 3,4: Earl’s was doing a $1 bbq rib promotion because they are planning to add it to their menu!  My friends said that the ribs were pretty good for a place that doesn’t regularly serve ribs but it had more  of a cajun taste than BBQ.  I’m not much of a ribs person and I thought they were okay.  Now on the other hand, Earl’s BBQ Chicken Pizza was delicious!

Row 3, Pic 1, 2: Peaks Frozen Custard reminded me of Italy!  It was probably because we bought the Affogato flavor which is their frozen custard topped with a shot of espresso!  MMM MMM, molto delizioso!  It was a perfect balance of vanilla and coffee!

Row 3, Pic 3,4: A Ray’s Elephant ear and mango lemonade!  I usually eat elephant ears at the Puyallup fair but this year I guess I’m treating myself twice to one of these!  It was satisfying but this elephant ear was a little too buttery for my liking.

Overall, I love the atmosphere at the Street Fair on a sunny day!  The art, jewelry, people, shows, music, food, vibe and energy reminded me of all the summer events that Seattle has to offer.  I definitely enjoyed the time I had with my friends at the 41st U-District Street Fair and I’m looking forward to more events to go to so let’s go!  If you know of any events coming up or want to share your favorite Street Fair vendor then feed us back!  Leave a comment at the top of this post or e-mail emeradlbites@gmail.com!

Eat it up!
Melissa

PS YOU MAY HAVE NOTICED BUT IF YOU HAVEN’T, WE HAVE A NEW BANNER!  THANK YOU BRYCE DULAY! Please give us feedback about what you think!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2012 8:12 am

    wow, awesome blog post.Thanks Again. Keep writing.

  2. January 15, 2012 9:46 am

    Muchos Gracias for your blog post.Really thank you! Much obliged.

Leave a comment